Tags

, , ,

Disclaimer:  I did not create any of these tools.  I am merely a deeply grateful user.

Spring semester 2013 I was taking a qualitative methods course taught by Dr V.  It was in this course that I learned of the vast research potential of Twitter.  I was immediately captivated with the idea of collecting tweets and analyzing them.  The search was on for a data collection tool!  Due to Twitter’s 2 week timeline, I spent many nights scouring the web for a tool that would allow me to collect tweets and analyze them offline.  I was offered a demo of Radian6 but this wouldn’t do the trick as I need more than just 1 time access.  In my vast Internet searching I came across the site of Martin Hawksey.  With the power of the Internet I am now deeply indebted to this individual.  This post from the site provides a link to a Twitter Archival tool using Google Spreadsheets.  Avoiding the risk of being repetitive, I will not detail the setup steps as they are presented in the post and accompanying links.  Other bloggers have contributed with step-by-step written instructions as well as a detailed video.  The trickiest part for me (sadly it wasn’t too difficult) was creating the Twitter App.

After following the instructions, I have been able to run over a dozen successful Twitter archives.  My oldest and largest ongoing archive started in April 2013 and contains over 6000 unique tweets.

If you have questions or need help with this tools, hit me up in the comments or via Twitter.  I will do my best to provide assistance or point you in the right direction if I don’t know the answer.

